Chris Beschi – The Hip Hop Stance

img_1202(Extract below)

I want to explore my practice as a hiphop artist and how my experiences
in my life and education inform my practice as an arts facilitator in an EBD
primary school. I am guided by my experiences as an artist and art student
as well as the tension I have experienced between my own cultural
definition of self; my education and my upbringing.
The aspects of hiphop culture that have always engaged me are those of
social conscience, participation, experimentation and multiculturalism. It is
a set of sensibilities and values, shaped through my experience of hiphop,
that guide my facilitation.

The concept of ‘Edutainment’ runs throughout my work with EBD
children. The young people I work with have all experienced ‘failure’ and
are often resistant to exposing themselves to seemingly risky experiences.

Click here for the full download

Leave a Reply

